Your timber knowledge database from Market Timbers

Purchasing timber can be a daunting experience especially with the endless combinations of sizes, grades, classes and species. Coupled with the tonne of timber terms used in the timber industry, finding the right timber to suit your needs can be a very daunting experience. Market Timbers has over 67 years experience with timber and all our staff are more than happy to point you in the right direction. Whether you’re worried about your girlfriends stilettos indenting the floor or finding the right species of timber to build in your bushfire affected holiday home, our friendly staff at Market Timbers can help you with your requirements.

Technical information is available on the topics listed below. Please click one of the following headings for more information about that related topic. If there is any further information you require regarding anything timber related, please email our office on [email protected] or contact our toll free number on 03 9314 9999.

Australian Grading Standards
Janka Ratings
Timber Durability Classes
Floor Slip Resistance
BCA Building Classes
Fire Ratings and Timber
Fire Hazard Properties - info and definitions (non single dwelling)
Fire Hazard Properties - CRF
Fire Hazard Properties - Wall and Ceiling Linings/Coverings
Timber Spread-of-Flame & Smoke-Developement Indexes
Bushfire Affected Zones - Bushfire Attack Level (BAL)
Permissible Limits for Bow, Spring, Twist & Cup